★The JPY is weak against the USD, EUR, GBP etc. now! Now is the time to buy!

Lacrimoso / Ken'ichi Masakado [Mixed Octet] [Score and Parts]

Regular price ¥4,480

Shipping calculated at checkout.

Score and Parts


For Mixed Octet

Composed by Ken'ichi Masakado (正門研一)

Publisher:Golden Hearts Publications(ONSA)

Printing Material:Color fine paper

Program notes:

This is a completely revised version of the work published under the title "Arioso" in 2005, including the instrumentation. The title was changed to "Lacrimoso" in conjunction with this revision.
The work can be described as a somewhat irregular passacaglia. The theme presented by the double bass (from rehearsal mark [B]) is repeated, but this theme sometimes progresses out of "phrase" or disappears as the piece progresses (the theme itself is expanded and altered at the end). In addition to this theme, a secondary theme is also presented and transformed in the first half of the piece (this is presented before the theme. / rehearsal mark [A]).
I do not intend to express any particular scene or story in this piece, but I believe that the structure of the piece can be read to bring out the emotions inherent in it.
The method of composition I attempted in this work has been applied to several of my later works, including "Adagio and Allegro" (2010, Saxophone Large Ensemble). In this sense, it is a work that I myself cherish.
(Ken'ichi Masakado)

Reference music


Clarinet in Bb
Alto Saxophone in Eb
Tenor Saxophone in Bb
Baritone Saxophone in Eb
Double Bass