★The JPY is weak against the USD, EUR, GBP etc. now! Now is the time to buy!

Pastorale - or The Tale of a “Forget-me-not” / Ken'ichi Masakado [Woodwind Quartet] [Score and Parts]

Regular price ¥3,280

Shipping calculated at checkout.

Score and Parts

Pastorale - or The Tale of a “Forget-me-not”

For Woodwind Quartet

Composed by Ken'ichi Masakado (正門研一)

Publisher:Golden Hearts Publications(ONSA)

Printing Material:Color fine paper

Program notes:

“Gentle, and Soft Messages”, with “A Strong Will” on a work…
When I was working on this work, I was earnestly considering the above theme.

I wrote this work by a commission from a wind orchestra club in high school in Fukuoka Prefecture in 2012. But, without the interaction with a woman, “Serina-san”, this work might be different.

Although I have the interaction with her, I have never met her, nor known where she is living. We were just using the same blog service (the blog service had been already terminated), and we read and wrote our blog, each other, and sometimes, exchanged some messages.
Through her blog, I noticed that she had an injury in her mind from her childhood. However, her poems and contributions to her blog about her daily life were full of “Gentle, and Soft Messages”. I recognized her strong feeling on “Life”, on her poems and contributions.
This work is my personal message to “Serina-san”, who kept sending “Gentle, and Soft Messages”, with “A Strong Will”, and who willingly accepted my use of her title of blog, as a subtitle of my work.

From the beginning to the end of rehearsal mark [D], main motifs are performed, and after [E], those motifs are developed. Quite simple structure, and I don’t establish any stories, especially. Indications in English will be a hint to develop the image of this work (but, performing may be a little bit difficult, technically …).

Originally, this work was composed for 2 Flutes, Oboe, and English Horn by request of commissioner. On 2020, revised for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, and Bassoon.

(Ken'ichi Masakado)

Reference music


Bb Clarinet