★The JPY is weak against the USD, EUR, GBP etc. now! Now is the time to buy!

Hope / Ssu-Yu Huang [Erhu, Flute and Piano]

Regular price ¥11,380

Shipping calculated at checkout.

Score and Parts

Hope (冀)

Composed by Ssu-Yu Huang (黄思瑜)


Publisher:Ssu-Yu Huang / Golden Hearts Publications(ONSA)

Printing Material:Color fine paper

Program Note:

The title "冀 (Ji)" is the ancient Chinese character for “hope.” This music is inspired by the paintings of Cen Long. His paintings reflect the efflux of human emotions with a profound artistic expression, which evinces humanism and the roots of human nature.

The composer creates a trio piece for flute, erhu and piano. By exploring the change, recombination and reconciliation of the timbre among the instruments, the tones in the paintings are thus elucidated. The different musical phrasings for the instruments create an auditory distance among the voices, which reflects the abstract distance among the various emotions from corresponding images. The rhythmic, harmonic and melodic variations epitomize the aesthetics of liveliness and tranquility in the paintings. The contrast between reality and illusion, between existence and disappearance, leads to emotional gaps and hurdles, which eventually submit to the simplistic nature of humanity. In the linear development of the music, the sound evolves to the original essence through various aesthetic phases of virtuality/reality, wrapping/unfolding, gathering/scattering, distancing/closing, and brightening/darkening. The different textures of the sound transform, enhance, and diminish to show the hope for music's vitality and to express human's contemplation and inspiration of life. This piece consists of three sections: the birth of life, the course of life, and the sublimation of life. Using a style of minimalism, the music symbolizes love emerging from the mediocrity. As human beings proliferate from generation to generation, the hope escalates and fulfills our hearts.
(Ssu-Yu Huang)

Reference music