★The JPY is weak against the USD, EUR, GBP etc. now! Now is the time to buy!

Arise, my muse !! - Concert March (for Brass Band) / Ken'ichi Masakado [Brass Band]

Regular price ¥25,000

Shipping calculated at checkout.

Score and Parts or Score only (you can choose)

Arise, my muse !! - Concert March
Composed by Ken'ichi Masakado (正門研一)


Publisher:Golden Hearts Publications(ONSA)

DX ver. : Biotope for score (A4 size), color fine paper for parts
Regular Ver. : Color fine paper for score (A4 size) and parts

Program notes:

It was composed in December 2010, commissioned by "The Fukuoka Flourish Brass", and was premiered at the 10th annual commemorative concert of the same band on January 16, 2011.

This work is a Brass Band work that I first worked on. Not particularly conscious of "British style", but for example, relaxed tempo and grandioso at finale, my English music experience - Elgar, Holst, Vaughan Williams, and Walton - is reflected.

It is a work composed in a standard British style and almost follows the form of general march, but the first half adopted the form of prelude-A-B-A-C-A that slightly expand the three parts form of prelude-A-B-A (as seen in works by Alford etc.) In the latter half (after the trio), the solo of the euphonium is taken over by the cornets, after that, it is composed of bridge - grandioso - coda. In the B (derived from A) and C in the first half, the polyphonic character is brought to the full extent, and in the bridge and coda in the latter half, by reproducing the prelude and the motif of A in the first half, I tried to have "Change", "Story" and "Sense of unity". (I reviewed some orchestrations in this publication.)

In the title "Arise, my muse !!", the thought is put in if this work can arouse the "inner muse" of the people who play or listen to (in fact, there is an ode of the same name in British big composer Purcell's work). This work has had a big influence on my several subsequent works (especially march), so it seems certain that only at least my own "inner muse" woke up.

(Ken'ichi Masakado)

Reference music

Score Sample:




Eb Soprano Cornet
Bb Solo Cornets
Bb Repiano Cornet
Bb 2nd Cornets
Bb 3rd Cornets
Bb Flugel Horn
Eb Solo Horn
Eb 1st Horn
Eb 2nd Horn
Bb 1st Baritone
Bb 2nd Baritone
Bb 1st Trombone
Bb 2nd Trombone
Bass Trombone
Bb Euphoniums
Eb Basses
Bb Basses
Percussion 1:
 Snare Drum
 Bass Drum
Percussion 2:
 Suspended Cymbal