★The JPY is weak against the USD, EUR, GBP etc. now! Now is the time to buy!

Reigning Over the Waves / Ssu-Yu Huang [Concert Band (Wind Band)]

Regular price ¥49,850

Shipping calculated at checkout.

Score and Parts or Score only (you can choose)

Reigning Over the Waves (威震四海)
Composed by Ssu-Yu Huang (黄思瑜)


Publisher:Ssu-Yu Huang / Golden Hearts Publications(ONSA)

Printing Material:
DX ver. : Biotope for score (A3 size), color fine paper for parts
Regukar Ver. : Color fine paper for score (A3 size) and parts

This piece was world-premiered at the Kaohsiung Culture Center in Taiwan on January 6, 2007. It was performed by the Navy Band, with Prof. Lian-Chang Kuo conducting.

Program notes :

This music is consisted of three sections: 1) Impending Danger, 2) Voyage Through Troubled Waters, and 3) Strength and Spirits. It describes the journey of a Naval battleship breaking away from dangerous circumstances and navigating through challenging encounters. The music concludes with brass instruments and drums in concert, symbolizing the victorious return of the battleship with strength and spirits.

The first section is an attempt of the composer to capture the feelings of unease and unpredictability. Using modern composition skills, unconventional performing techniques and experimental combinations of instruments, an atmosphere is created for the audience to experience the capricious and unstable emotion. It exhibits a devious, mysterious, and furtive style. The interaction among tone, dynamics and texture achieves a dramaturgic musical tension. The musical structure in this section is based on kinetic connection of a serious of static notes. By contrast, the second and third sections are based on relations and transitions among the different keys. The melody unleashes swiftly, without sharp contrast, without hindrance. The mutual complement between brass and percussion opens a broad scene of excitement and enthusiasm. Converging to a rhythmic and vivid mood, the music ends with high spirits and full of self-confidence.

This music was a commissioned work for the Navy Band of the Republic of China in 2007.

Reference music

Score Sample:



Flute 1
Flute 2 
Oboe 1 
Oboe 2
Bassoon 1
Bassoon 2
Clarinet in Bb 1
Clarinet in Bb 2 
Clarinet in Bb 3
Bass Clarinet
Alto Saxophone 1
Alto Saxophone 2 
Tenor Saxophone 
Baritone Saxophone
Trumpet in Bb 1
Trumpet in Bb 2
Trumpet in Bb 3
Horn in F 1
Horn in F 2
Horn in F 3 
Horn in F 4
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Trombone 3
Double Bass
Mallet I (Chime, Vibraphone)
Mallet II (Xylophone, Marmba)
Percussion 1 (5 Tom Toms, Thunder Sheet(Large), Tam-tam, Snare Drum,
1 Steel Brake Drum(Anvil), Suspend Cymbal(Medium))
Percussion 2 (1 Rain Stick, 3 Bongos, 2 Congas, Triangle, Bass Drum,
Percussion 3 (1 Nippled Gong(low), 5 Temple Blocks, 2 Claves, 3 Cowbells,
1 Tambourine, 1 Woodblock)