★The JPY is weak against the USD, EUR, GBP etc. now! Now is the time to buy!

Concerto for Percussion Octet in D Minor: A Transcription from A. Vivaldi's Concerto, Op. 3 No. 11 (L'estro armonico) and J. S. Bach's Arrangement for Organ, BWV 596 (1st mov.) / arr. Mizuki Aita [Percussion Trio - Octet]

Regular price ¥2,840

Shipping calculated at checkout.

Score and Parts

Composed by A. Vivaldi , J.S. Bach
Arranged by Mizuki Aita (會田瑞樹)


Publisher:Golden Hearts Publications(ONSA)

Printing Material:Color fine paper

World Premiere :
in 14th August of 2021, at the “Museum of Kyoto”, an annex hall.
Performance by “Ensemble Sai-Sai with Mizuki Aita”;
Kenta Ikeda, Mizuki Tachiiri, Kanna Taniguchi, Saki Maeda, Shun Matsui, Mio Yamamoto,
Hiroya Yokota, and Mizuki Aita

Program notes:

“L'estro armonico”, Op. 3, which was first published in Amsterdam in 1711, is a remarkable work by Antonio Vivaldi. The 1st movement of No. 11 in D minor starts with irritability, and after only 3bars of cry, proceed to a finale of Fuga. From 1708 to 1717, when J. S. Bach was returning to Weimar, Bach obtained the score of this work, and also arranged to “Concerto for Organ BWV596”.
Before I started a career as a percussion player, I learned this work through a lesson of violin. Lessons by my violin teacher, Seiko Terui, became a base of my music. I was considering that someday I would be able to play this work by percussion. Although I once tried to perform by a solo Vibraphone, it was not so good. I wanted Multi-layered sound by ensemble.
In Spring of 2021, Kanna Taniguchi discussed with me an encore for a concert in Kyoto, on 14th August. It should be performed by all members. At that time, I thought that now is the time to perform this work. I suggested my newly writing, and she agreed readily. I studied both of the scores by Vivaldi and Bach, and arranged to the work for percussion ensemble. I have done all of my best so that this work, which has been still brilliant for 310 years, will be well performed by percussion. This time, engraving was by Kouichirou Oguni.
The first performance will be in 14th August of 2021, at “Museum of Kyoto”.
Dedicated to Ensemble Sai-Sai, and Seiko Terui, my violin teacher.

(Mizuki Aita)

Instrumentation (8 players in maximum)
1 Vibraphone, 2 Marimba (5 octaves),
Percussions (Metal, Wood, and Leather, freely chosen by players)

Instrumentation (3 players in minimum)
1 Vibraphone and 2 Marimba (4 octaves)
*Use Marimba Part score, I-a and II-a

Flexible Instrumentation (Example)
1 Vibraphone, 1 Marimba (5 octaves), 1 Marimba (4 octaves)
* Use Marimba Part score, I-a and II-a, b, and add percussions

About Percussions:
Part scores show only relative pitches. From Metal (ex. Cymbals, Triangle, Tam-tam, sheet of steel, etc.,), Wood (ex. Wood Blocks, a piece of wood, Wood Chimes, Temple Block, etc.,), and Leather (ex. Bass Drum, Snare Drum, Tom-tom, etc.,), you can use any percussions. Also, the ways of playing percussions (ex. by sticks, bows of strings, fingers, etc.,) will be adjusted according to ensemble balance, improvisationally.

On original scores by Vivaldi and Bach, there’s no indication of dynamics. Consequently, on this arrangement, I intentionally put no dynamics. Appropriate dynamics by players should be chosen, according to performance, practice, and stage. As an arranger, I hope that you listen to the original works by Vivaldi and Bach, which were performed in many ways.

PDF download is also available for this work.

Reference music


Instrumentation (Parts included in the set):
Marimba I-a
Marimba I-b
Marimba II-a
Marimba II-b
Perc. 1
Perc. 2
Perc. 3