★The JPY is weak against the USD, EUR, GBP etc. now! Now is the time to buy!

Today's Pick Up : Concerto for Percussion Octet / Mizuki Aita

Posted by 梅本周平 on

We will be introducing some Golden Hearts Publications piece per week.

Please give me a few moments of your time!

Here's today's piece.

Concerto for Percussion Octet in D Minor: A Transcription from A. Vivaldi's Concerto, Op. 3 No. 11 (L'estro armonico) and J. S. Bach's Arrangement for Organ, BWV 596 / arr. Mizuki Aita [Percussion Trio - Octet]

Printed version (1st mov.)

Printed version (2nd, 3rd mov.)

PDF version (1st mov.)

Printed version (2nd, 3rd mov.)

Program notes :

“L'estro armonico”, Op. 3, which was first published in Amsterdam in 1711, is a remarkable work by Antonio Vivaldi. The 1st movement of No. 11 in D minor starts with irritability, and after only 3bars of cry, proceed to a finale of Fuga. From 1708 to 1717, when J. S. Bach was returning to Weimar, Bach obtained the score of this work, and also arranged to “Concerto for Organ BWV596”.
Before I started a career as a percussion player, I learned this work through a lesson of violin. Lessons by my violin teacher, Seiko Terui, became a base of my music. I was considering that someday I would be able to play this work by percussion. Although I once tried to perform by a solo Vibraphone, it was not so good. I wanted Multi-layered sound by ensemble.
In Spring of 2021, Kanna Taniguchi discussed with me an encore for a concert in Kyoto, on 14th August. It should be performed by all members. At that time, I thought that now is the time to perform this work. I suggested my newly writing, and she agreed readily. I studied both of the scores by Vivaldi and Bach, and arranged to the work for percussion ensemble. I have done all of my best so that this work, which has been still brilliant for 310 years, will be well performed by percussion. This time, engraving was by Kouichirou Oguni.
The first performance will be in 14th August of 2021, at “Museum of Kyoto”.
Dedicated to Ensemble Sai-Sai, and Seiko Terui, my violin teacher.

(Mizuki Aita)

I look forward to receiving your order!

Shuhei Umemoto
Golden Hearts Publications Global Store